Secrets and lies

Olive boneweb

In which Violet Greer talks to animals.

This is Olive. And her bone. According to her family, she hides the bone all over the house. Her owner is a writer and even found it among her manuscript papers. Unlike some strange dog behaviors, this one is more perplexing than annoying. Because Olive is a rescue dog, her family doesn’t know her history or habits.

When I pressed her on this issue, she refused to admit to hiding the bone.

“Yeah, that’s my bone,” she said. “I don’t hide it. That’s crazy. It wasn’t me. I think it was the girl, or maybe one of the boys.”

I pointed out to her that the children don’t chew on bones and were unlikely to be the ones hiding it.

“No one saw me hide it, right? You have no proof. If I hid it and I’m not saying I did, then it would have been because I want to surprise my family with a chewy treat.”

Many dogs hide bones and treats. They may be continuing behaviors that were protective in the past. Dogs may have hidden food from other animals in the wild if they had too much to eat at one meal. I’m more concerned that Olive feels the need to lie about it. Who does she think will get the blame for hiding her bone? I will have to work with her some more to get to the bottom of this…

Thanks to Kali and Troy for sharing their photos! ~de

2 comments on “Secrets and lies

  1. […] is Olive, she’s been on the blog before, here. I met with her to follow up on the bone-hiding behavior. She had her own […]

  2. […] is Olive, she’s been on the blog before, here. I met with her to follow up on the bone-hiding behavior. She had her own […]

Leave a Reply

