Dog Daze

tanner.

In which Violet Greer talks to animals.

Sometimes animals talk to me outside of an “official” session. In fact, it happens quite a bit. Once they know someone can understand them, they have a lot to say.

This old guy has seen his life change in the past few years as two busy girls have joined his household.

“I hope they can’t see me hiding here. I just need a few minutes to rest. Sometimes it’s more than I can take.”

I asked if he enjoyed having the kids in his house.

“I love the kids but I didn’t know how much work they would be. The big humans told me it would be fun. ‘We’ll take care of them, we’ll feed them and play with them. We’ll do all the work,’ they said.”

He sighed and pushed his face further under the toy.

“Who has to have his tail pulled, his toys stolen, and submit to being dressed up like a doll? Not them! It’s all on me.”

When he started to snore, I quietly left the room and sent the kids outside to play.

 

Thanks to Kris and Tom for sharing this photo! ~de

4 comments on “Dog Daze

  1. […] is Tanner. We’ve met him before, here. You would think that being caught “red-handed” as they say would guarantee an honest […]

  2. […] because he seemed “withdrawn” according to his family. You may remember Tanner from this post and this one. He lives with two small children which doesn’t always translate to the type of […]

  3. […] this week because he seemed “withdrawn” according to his family. You may remember Tanner from this post and this one. He lives with two small children which doesn’t always translate to the type of […]

  4. […] is Tanner. We’ve met him before, here. You would think that being caught “red-handed” as they say would guarantee an honest […]

Leave a Reply

