Calming Chamomile

Jillianlogo

Hello. Jillian Andrews here. If you have read Clyde’s book about Crystal Haven, you know about my son, Tom. He’s a very good police officer. But he’s even better at mixing herbs and potions. The only one of my children with any talent for herbal remedies at all. Rose Fortune and I have complained to each other many times over the years about our children and their stubborn loyalty to police work when it is obvious to their mothers where their true talents lie.

Harriet Munson warned me not to get too personal on the blog so I won’t say anymore about that. Right now.

After Pall in the Family was released, and Harriet was involved in something called a blog tour, I became quite busy mixing up elixirs to calm nerves. She drank gallons of the stuff. It seemed the whole town was having trouble sleeping, or feeling as if they had excess energy. It may be that they were sensing the attention that Crystal Haven was receiving. Or it may be that they were nervous about our town being on display. Either way, I used a lot of chamomile that week.

Chamomile has been used for thousands of years to calm anxiety, help induce sleep, and to treat stomach ailments. Its mild taste makes it ideal for children with tummy aches. It also has anti-inflammatory properties and can be used as a poultice on bug bites, eczema, or hives.

Since I use so much of it in my herbal remedy business, I grow my own to avoid any pesticides or chemicals that can sometimes contaminate wild chamomile. Recently I did have to resort to purchasing some from my herbal supplier. Chamomile looks like a daisy – with a bright yellow center and white petals. After drying, it can be steeped and consumed as a tea. I also like to soak a cloth in the tea and use it as a compress.

Some people are allergic to chamomile. Harriet asked me to remind everyone to check with their own health care provider before experimenting with any herbs.

I’ll return in a few weeks with another herbal remedy!

Have you ever used chamomile?

2 comments on “Calming Chamomile

  1. Good morning, Ms Andrews. On the same day that my mom bought the Valerian you wrote about, she saw your post about Chamomile. She found it in the same store and bought two boxes of Chamomile tea. Good thing they weren’t having a 2fer sale on tea or she would have bought a shipload of this, too. This tea has lavender in it. With her being high strung and all, I hope it works the same even with the lavender. Like lots of old people, she loves the smell of lavender. She washes all our stuff in soap that has it in it. She dries all our stuff with sheets of paper that smell like lavender. Actually, my dad walks around smelling really pretty. His nose doesn’t work so good anymore, so we aren’t telling him that.

    • dawneastman says:

      According to my sources, dogs can also benefit from chamomile. If you are intrigued by the new herbal remedies, you could try them as well. Maybe you are already overloaded with the smell of lavender if it is all over your house. Try to tell your mom to go slow – if she tries too many things at once she wont know which one is working!

      ~Jillian

Leave a Reply

