Valuable Valerian

Jillianlogo

In which Crystal Haven’s characters share their expertise.

Hello! Jillian Andrews again. It seems there is still some need for a calming influence here in Crystal Haven. The frenzy from the release of Pall in the Family has died down, but tourism is steady and everyone is feeling a little frazzled. When I get anxious, the first sign is difficulty sleeping. That’s where valerian comes in.

Used for centuries, as a calming tonic, valerian is great for insomnia. It can also be used for anxiety, stress and stomach discomfort. I like to take mine in capsule form because the tea smells and tastes horrible. Unlike chamomile, there is very little chance you will convince anyone to drink it.

The valerian plant is pretty with white flowers, but it is the root that is most useful. The roots can be harvested in fall or spring and then need to be dried and crushed into a powder for use. The drying process can give off an odor of damp socks, so you will want a well ventilated room for this procedure. I often try to talk my son Tom into doing this for me. He has a great talent with herbs and doesn’t seem to mind the stench, or maybe he’s just being kind.

Some of my clients believe that valerian is good for dream magick – maybe I should mention this to Rose Fortune. Also, it can be used in sachets for protection, to settle arguments, and to calm emotions.

Have you ever tried Valerian?

Please remember to check with your own health care provider before experimenting with any herbs.

5 comments on “Valuable Valerian

  1. My mom just bought some of this stuff. Among other things, she’s a little high strung and thought it might help. Did she stop at one bottle? Nope. Did she stop at two? Naw… They were having a buy two get three free sale on the stuff. She saw this post on Valerian you did and just had to have some. And she can never pass up a 2fer sale. What might you recommend for addictions, Ms Andrews?

    • dawneastman says:

      Well, I’m a bit concerned on two counts. Is she addicted to sales, or valerian? I don’t think valerian has addictive properties. I will have to check with Violet Greer about the use of valerian for canines. It sounds like you might benefit if you are living in a high stress environment.

      ~Jillian

  2. Well, I was barking at my mom the other day and without saying anything about Miss Jillian’s concerns, I said “you know Mom, you might have a problem with that valerian you’re taking”. My mom said “oh yeah, Astrid? How’s that?” I said “first, you bought a shipload of the stuff and now you take it by the fistful”. My mom said “first, Astrid, it says take five and they’re big. Second, they were having a two for the price of 5 sale and that is hardly a ‘shipload’. Why don’t you go play ‘Clyde the cop’ now and arrest some of your friends.” Maybe I could use some valerian as a dip for my chicken wings. It smells funny though.

Leave a Reply

